Welcome to the Auburn Chamber!



Each year the Auburn business community gathers at the Auburn Arena to reflect on the past year, welcome the new board chairperson, and celebrate a number of outstanding individuals and organizations. This year, E.L Spencer, the Auburn Public Safety Department and Jay and Susie Gogue were among those honored.

“An important part of what we do is shine a spotlight on those who have shaped our community and worked hard to make Auburn better. As our organization steadily grows and we have to work harder to stay connected, this gathering and celebration becomes even more meaningful,” said Lolly Steiner, Auburn Chamber president.

Other awards presented included:

Eagle Awards—Eagle Awards are presented to businesses or individuals who have made broad contributions to the Auburn community. Recipients must be members of the Auburn Chamber and in business in Auburn for no less than 5 years.

Recipients have made an impact in our community through at least one of the following categories:

Educational growth for employees and community

Job opportunities

Charitable contributions

Civic contributions OR

Aesthetic contribution via building and landscaping

J&M Bookstore in downtown Auburn

Laura Eason, director of chaplaincy services at EAMC


The Locker Room

Church of the Highlands Dream Center

Auburn Chamber & Auburn-Opelika Tourism Partnership Award— The Collegiate Hotel at Auburn

This award was created to recognize a business, person or project that has been an excellent partner in tourism or instrumental in developing or driving tourism in our area.

Young Business Person of the Year—Katy Doss, Here Molly Girl

This award was initiated in 1994 to recognize a young business person for his or her achievement early in business.

Norm Caldwell Excellence in Industry Award—Ted Wilson, City of Auburn IDB

Created in 2002, the Norm Caldwell Excellence in Industry Award recognizes and honors an invaluable leader in industry.

Teague Award (Volunteer of the Year)—Rod Cater, Alabama Power

The Teague Award, created in 1991, is named for Sam Teague, a past president of the chamber, a chamber diplomat, member of the board of directors and the ultimate volunteer. This award serves as the chamber’s “Volunteer of the Year” award and is presented annually to an outstanding volunteer.

Diplomat of the Year (Sponsored by AuburnBank)Richmond Gunter, Muncie & Mattson, P.C.

The Diplomats serve as the Auburn Chamber’s core group of volunteers and make everything we do possible. Our volunteers are our hosts, our helpers and our representatives.

Chairman’s Award—Jay and Susie Gogue, Auburn University

This award is the Auburn Chamber’s highest honor, bestowed upon an accomplished leader who is wholly dedicated to the Auburn community.

Spirit of Auburn Award—City of Auburn Public Safety Department

The Spirit of Auburn award was established in 2002 to honor an individual (our group) for his/her/their special contribution to the community.

Bill Ham Lifetime Impact Award—E.L. Spencer

Presented for the first time in 2019 and named for former mayor Bill Ham, the Lifetime Impact Award pays tribute to an individual for 20 years or more of exceptional and impactful personal and professional contributions to the Auburn community. This award was presented by the first recipient and namesake, Bill Ham.

This year’s meeting also featured remarks by Sarah Brown, 2019 chair of the Auburn Chamber, Auburn Mayor Ron Anders, and keynote speaker Dr. John Ed Mathison. The meeting was presented by Berkshire Hathaway HomeServices Preferred Real Estate and sponsored by Alabama Power; Allstate—Prewett Insurance Group; Carr, Riggs & Ingram; CenterState Bank; The Hotel at Auburn University; and Jeffcoat-Trant Funeral Home.

At the close of the meeting, the ceremonial gavel was passed from current chair Sarah Brown with lifeSTYLED Three Sixty {inspired interiors) to Rod Cater of Alabama Power.

Awards video: https://youtu.be/rBlrqI09c-4


Back to News